medicnick83

Are you in EMS?

Hi all,

Curious!

Whom here is actually employed/volunteer in EMS? (Be it Fire services, Ambulance or Police)

Me personally, I'm a "Intermediate" (ILS/AEA) in the Department of Health: EMS in Cape Town, South Africa - we are also known as "Metro EMS" but it seems they want to 'drop' the "Metro" part.

See attached photos for what our uniform, ambulances look like and our badge.

post-59588-0-83005300-1418468152_thumb.j

post-59588-0-20146100-1418468169_thumb.j

post-59588-0-80741300-1418468254_thumb.j

Yes. I'm an EMT (BLS) in California. I work for one of the largest ambulance companies in the country. I run emergency calls every now and then but these days I mostly just transfer people from facility to facility since I am a part time employee.

Yes. I'm an EMT (BLS) in California. I work for one of the largest ambulance companies in the country. I run emergency calls every now and then but these days I mostly just transfer people from facility to facility since I am a part time employee.

Oh boy dude... I'd hate to do that... I can't DEAL doing IHT's all day (Inter hospital transfers)

In South Africa, we have a 'division' for those type of calls though, IMO, they are lazy buggers! We call the service "HealthNET" or "Health Non Emergency Transfers" and the vehicles are called "Tango's" (Basically doing IHT's of walking patients etc)

I don't hold a medical field (EMT, EMR, Paramedic, etc), however, I do operate with my local volunteer fire department which provides a medical team to the regular fire response area, as our fire response area is very rural, and we are able to arrive on scene and give care to patients before the ambulance can get on scene. We have to undergo an actual medical basics course which provides us with the basics to perform a successful job in order to respond with the medical team.

It also allows us to provide vital information to the EMS crews responding, such as BP, O2 Sat, etc.