groovybluedog

Mod Beginner

Hello Everyone,

I am new to modding of any game, and this will be my first. I wish to start off by editing the freeplay map. I want to change the fire station layout and add traffic lights. Its not the fire station layout or traffic lights I need help with, as I can probably figure that out later. Its how to get to that stage. What software do I need? Do I need to convert anything?

Regards

-Groovy

Hello Everyone,

I am new to modding of any game, and this will be my first. I wish to start off by editing the freeplay map. I want to change the fire station layout and add traffic lights. Its not the fire station layout or traffic lights I need help with, as I can probably figure that out later. Its how to get to that stage. What software do I need? Do I need to convert anything?

Regards

-Groovy

See the FAQ

The editor will get you going on the traffic lights.

Skins - Photoshop, Gimp, paint.net, MS paint, basicly anything that can edit photos. !!!: Layers are an important thing for better mapping, photoshop or paint.net is recommended!

Models - Zanoza Modeler (ZModeler), 3DS Max, Cinema 4D, basicly anything that can be used in 3D arts.

Scripts - Wordpad, Notepad, mostly anything that can edit texts. !!!: C++ Knowledge are required!

Mostly anything else can be done in the editor. Just a matter of playing around with it.

May be a dumb question, but Where can I find this editor?

For any graphics ill use photoshop. Paint.net sucks. Paint.net renders as you do it, so you can only undo your last edit. Besides I have adobe master collection anyway :P

Can anyone reccommend where I go to start learning this stuff? C++, 3D Models, Maps ect?